Nobu: A Memoir

Author(s): Nobu Matsuhisa

Biography

"In this outstanding memoir, chef and restaurateur Matsuhisa...shares lessons in humility, gratitude, and empathy that will stick with readers long after they've finished the final chapter." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) A fascinating and unique memoir by the acclaimed celebrity chef and international restaurateur, Nobu, as he divulges both his dramatic life story and reflects on the philosophy and passion that has made him one of the world's most widely respected Japanese fusion culinary artists.Nobu needs no introduction. One of the world's most widely acclaimed restaurateurs, his influence on food and hospitality can be found at the highest levels of haute-cuisine to the food trucks you frequent during the work week-this is the Nobu that the public knows. But now, we are finally introduced to the private Nobu: the man who failed three times before starting the restaurant that would grow into an empire; the man who credits the love and support of his wife and children as the only thing keeping him from committing suicide when his first restaurant burned down; and the man who values the busboy who makes sure each glass is crystal clear as highly as the chef who slices the fish for Omakase perfectly. What makes Nobu special, and what made him famous, is the spirit of what exists on these pages. He has the traditional Japanese perspective that there is great pride to be found in every element of doing a job well-no matter how humble that job is. Furthermore, he shows us repeatedly that success is as much about perseverance in the face of adversity as it is about innate talent. Not just for serious foodies, this inspiring memoir is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo's The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Danny Meyer's Setting the Table. Nobu's writing does what he does best-it marries the philosophies of East and West to create something entirely new and remarkable.

$45.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"More than a culinary-centric memoir, the book carries the wisdom of a successful self-made man who made many mistakes and who had weaknesses and moments of despair . . . relatable life lessons from a passionate spirit are what keep the pages turning." * Eater, The Best Food-Focused Memoirs of Fall 2017 * "The secret to the appeal of this charming memoir resides in Matsuhisa's personal simplicity . . . A straightforward memoir sure to please both Nobu fans and Japanese cuisine lovers." * Kirkus Reviews *

General Fields

  • : 9781501122798
  • : Simon & Schuster
  • : Simon & Schuster
  • : September 2017
  • : 187mm X 130mm X 23mm
  • : United States
  • : December 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 641.5092
  • : 224
  • : 17 b&w images throughout; 1-C endpapers
  • : Nobu Matsuhisa
  • : Hardback
  • : en